• 26/05/2024 10:36

Fan madness and beer festival: how Bayer celebrated the historic championship (photo, video)

ByИван Дунаев

Apr 15, 2024

 Fan madness and beer festival: how Bayer celebrated the historic championship (photo, video)

The Leverkusen club won the German championship for the first time in its 120-year history .

Bayerenchantfully celebrated their victory in the Bundesliga for the 2023/24 season. On Sunday, April 14, the Leverkusen club beat Werder Bremen on its own field (5:0) and became the German champion for the first time in history.

After the fifth goal was scored against Bremen in the 90th minute of the game, the Pharmacists fans ran out onto the field en masse and began to uncontrollably celebrate the triumph of their team, so the referees had to end the match.

A huge number of Bayer fans filled the field Bay Arena stadium in Leverkusen to share the joy of winning the Silver Salad Bowl with the players.

For Bayer, this is the first Bundesliga gold in the club's 120-year history . Before this, the last time the club won a trophy was in 1993, when they won the German Cup.

For Xabi Alonso, this is also the first trophy in his coaching career. In gratitude to the “pharmacists” mentor, the club’s fans chanted his name during an extremely emotional celebration.

And where would we be without the legendary song “We Are the Champions” group Queen, which was sung by the whole stadium.

Traditionally, winning a trophy in Germany was accompanied by countless amounts of beer. The feast continued at the post-match press conference and in the locker room, where the newly crowned champions poured this drink on each other, including Alonso, amid loud screams.

@JeremieFrimpong is a HERO! #Winnerkusen #DeutscherMeisterSVB pic.twitter.com/c7UDtyuxnc

— Bayer 04 Leverkusen (@bayer04_en) April 14, 2024

Note that Bayer interrupted the hegemony of Bayern, which was 11 times in a row became German champion. Before this, the last time the Munich giants were left without a Bundesliga title was back in the 2010/11 and 2011/12 seasons, when Borussia Dortmund triumphed under Jurgen Klopp.

It’s interesting that “pharmacists” continue to go undefeated in the current Bundesliga – Alonso's team won 25 matches and tied 4. In addition, Leverkusen reached the final of the German Cup and the quarterfinals of the Europa League.

Subscribe to the TSN.ua channels on Telegram and Viber, as well as the TSN.ua and TSN Prosport pages on Facebook.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *